Shoshin: Finding Beginner’s Mind at the San Francisco Zen Center

The Art of Shoshin is a Way of Being. Free and Open.

Manon Jacquin
2 min readJun 17, 2024

A few years ago, I volunteered at the San Francisco Zen Center for three transformative months.

I initially sought to deepen my practice of Zen meditation when I discovered they needed volunteers to help digitize the Zen Center Library. This library is a treasure trove of wisdom! I spent countless hours there, losing myself in its vast collection. After my work triaging books, I would join the evening service, where I practiced Zen meditation.

For 45 minutes, we would sit in front of a wall, eyes gently half-open, backs straight, and legs crossed.

During my time at the Zen Center, I encountered a term that stuck with me: Shoshin.

Shoshin is a Buddhist concept meaning “beginner’s mind.” It refers to approaching life with openness, eagerness, and a willingness to set aside preconceptions and expectations.

This concept revolutionized my approach to meditation. Although I had been meditating for years using different techniques, embracing Shoshin made me feel like a true beginner, open to trying something new. I embraced the zen way of being. Of welcoming what is.

But the impact of Shoshin went beyond meditation; it transformed my entire outlook on life.

Embracing and embodying a beginner’s mind is powerful in every aspect of life. It shatters preconceptions and expectations, allowing us to think and act with fresh eyes and humility. It is truly liberating, and became one of my core values since then.

Next time you feel stuck or want to see the world through a new lens, try practicing the beginner’s mind. Open yourself to the endless possibilities it can bring!

--

--

Manon Jacquin

I explore what it means to be human today. I (mostly) write about leadership and ways to live a creative & joyful life. I (occasionally) write poetry.